Geoff Tate Announces New Lineup For His Version Of Queensrÿche

Longtime Queensrÿche singer Geoff Tate — who was recently fired from the band — announced last month that he will be supporting Alice Cooper on an upcoming Canadian tour in November, followed by a Queensrÿche anniversary tour in 2013 backed by an "all-star lineup" of musicians.

On Saturday, Tate revealed the cast of musicians via a post on the band's official website, Queensrÿ, which he still maintains control of. The new lineup includes:

- Geoff Tate - Vocals
- Rudy Sarzo (Whitesnake, Quiet Riot, Dio, Ozzy Osbourne) - Bass
- Bobby Blotzer (RATT) - Drums
- Glen Drover (Megadeth, King Diamond) - Guitar
- Kelly Gray (Queensrÿche) - Guitar
- Randy Gane (Queensrÿche) - Keyboards

"Together we shall embark on a new musical journey that will be a greater extension of where Queensrÿche has ever been," wrote Tate in a statement.

"With this new project, with these new people, it’s a whole new scene. There are new ideas, different musical backgrounds and a whole new set of parameters. Everyone has ideas you haven’t heard before, and everyone is throwing them against the wall and suddenly … the music has a whole new life."

Queensrÿche guitarist Michael Wilton and Parker Lundgren, along with drummer Scott Rockenfield and bassist Eddie Jackson, announced that they were parting ways with Tate on June 20, and that former Crimson Glory front man Todd La Torre would now head the band. 

Tate and his wife, Susan, Queensrÿche's former manager, filed a lawsuit against Geoff's ex-bandmates on June 22 in King County Superior Court over whether he should be awarded the Queensrÿche name after being dismissed from the group in June. Their complaint states Rockenfield, Wilton and Jackson wrongfully fired the singer and are tarnishing the group's brand by attempting to move forward without him.

If the case goes to trial, the date is set for November 18, 2013.


Post a Comment